How to permanently delete your Telegram account

Who I am
Pavel Yosifovich
@pavelyosifovich
Author and references

If you are one of the millions of people using the Telegram's private communication app, read on to learn more about Telegram's security issues and how to permanently delete your account if that's what you choose to do.

App privacy concerns Telegram's personal communication tools emerged soon after its launch in 2013. The application's default settings do not encrypt communications between you and the recipient. If you don't enable the secret chat feature, your conversations will be saved on Telegram servers, which are located all over the world.



Telegram encryption protocols and policies

Telegram claims that the archived chat information is encrypted on their servers and that they keep the information in case you want to restore old chats.

However, this raises the question of why data archiving is not done based on a sharing option or why end-to-end encryption it is not the default. Data archiving is a costly endeavor for a non-profit company, so why do they do it?

Also, there have been a number of security issues with Telegram in the past. In 2017, hackers exploited a Unicode bug in Telegram software that allowed them to install remote-controlled crypto miners and malware on a vulnerable Windows computer.

The security issues on Telegram are still there, with many crypto experts wondering why Telegram uses a local cryptographic protocol known as MTProto.

Telegram insists its encryption software is secure, but with readily available protocols proven effective by independent experts, why do they have their own?


This proprietary protocol with high-level encryption has contributed to Telegram's rather depressing reputation. It has been infamously used by terrorists to plan attacks and spread propaganda, among other things.


Consequently, it was banned in several countries, closely followed in others and was even briefly removed from the App Store in early 2018 when it was found to share inappropriate content.

If you are concerned about unusual encryption protocols and policies and a bad reputation of the messaging app, this article will show you how to permanently delete Telegram.

Step by Step Guide: How to Delete Your Telegram Account

There are several ways to delete your Telegram account. You should know in advance that once your account is deleted it cannot be cancelled.

Your chats, contact list, groups, etc. they will come permanently deleted, even if you download Telegram again later.

Eliminated by adjusting the self-destruct settings

Self-destruct is one of Telegram's security features, which causes your account to be deleted after a certain period of inactivity. The default self-destruct period is six months of inactivity, but can be changed to a shorter period of time, as follows:

  • Log into your Telegram account on your device and select «Settings«.
  • Click on "Privacy and security«.
  • Scroll down to «Delete my account if I'm not there» and go to 1 month.
  • If you refrain from using Telegram, after the one-month period, your account will be deleted, along with all your conversations and contacts.

Adjusting the self-destruct setting gives you the ability to change your mind during your idle time. Just use the chat app and the self-destruct period will reset. If you don't want to wait and want to delete your Telegram account immediately, read on.



Manually delete the telegram

There is no option for «delete account» in the Telegram app, it must be done via a web browser, on your mobile device or on your computer. Follow these simple steps:

  • Visit telegram deactivation page and enter your account phone number in the correct international format.
  • You will be asked to add a confirmation code, which has been sent to your mobile number.
  • On the next page, you can enter a reason for leaving if you like before clicking «Done«.
  • A pop-up window will ask: «Are you safe? «. Click on «Yes, delete my account«.
  • Your Telegram account has been deleted and you can remove the app from your device.

If you change your mind, it may take a few days before you can create a new Telegram account.


Telegram data export

Before deleting Telegram, you may want to export your data, such as chats, photos and other media. You'll need the latest version of Telegram Desktop to download your data in JSON or HTML formats. To export your data:

  • Open the Telegram desktop and select «Settings«.
  • To select "Export telegram data«.
  • Then select «Export chat history» and choose the type of data you want to export.
  • You can now view your telegram data offline.

More ways to keep your data private

Telegram is no stranger to controversy, but it's not the only chat app that has seen its security questioned. With increasingly sophisticated hackers, it's never been more important to keep your private data online.


There are a number of steps you can take to improve your online security, including using a high-quality VPN when browsing the web, streaming or sending information online. Easy to use, VPNs provide comprehensive online protection, preventing breaches before they happen. Using multiple layers of protection and encryption, your connection is anonymous, secure and private.


add a comment of How to permanently delete your Telegram account
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.