How to permanently delete your Facebook account

Who I am
Shane Conder
@shaneconder
Author and references

You can leave the social network Facebook. This is a simple process, which can be done in two ways: eliminate definitely the account or simply deactivate it temporarily. The latter option should be considered if you plan to return to the social network at any time in the future. Regardless of the case, you should know that you can do both methods with ease.

However, you should be aware that permanent deletion of your account it will remove all your data and will not allow you to recover it. However, if you deactivate it, your profile will be temporarily deleted, so it is a step you should think carefully about. Furthermore, since it is a constantly updated platform, in this post you will find the modes corresponding to the latest version.



Deactivate your account

If what you want is leave that social network for a while, without your contacts being able to search for you or see your profile, you can deactivate your account for a while. This way you have the possibility to come back whenever you want. To do this, you need to take these steps into account:

  1. Go to https://www.facebook.com/ and access.
  2. Plan your trip to down arrow icon, located next to the notification bell.
  3. Click on "Settings and privacy".
  4. Then, select the «Settings» option.
  5. When you do, you will find a column on your left with various sections. Therefore, select «Your Facebook information».
  6. Scroll down, where you will find the “Deactivation and deletion” option.
  7. Now click on «Deactivate account». Then, press the option «Continue with the deactivation of your account».
  8. confirm this process, you simply must enter your Facebook password and click on «Continue».

Activate your account

In case you want go back to your Facebook account after turning it off, you can access the platform normally from the website or from the Smartphone application. To do it, you just have to remember the email and password that you used to create your profile on this platform.



In the case of you don't remember your password, can click on the option «Forgot your password?» to request a new one, after a verification code that will be requested. You can do this regardless of how long you have deactivated your account.

Permanently delete your account

If what you want is to permanently delete your Facebook account, without the ability to recover your profile, the platform gives you the ability to do that, by giving you from 30 to 90 days to think about the your choice. You can start this process as follows:


  1. Log in to Facebook and go to Settings of the platform.
  2. Then, go to the section «Your Facebook information».
  3. Then, scroll down to find the option «Deactivation and removal».
  4. Select the «Delete account» section and click on the «Continue with account deletion» button.
  5. Before proceeding with the cancellation, you will be given the possibility to deactivate the account to continue using Messenger or to download your information, to make a backup copy. Choose the section you want and then click on “Delete account”.
  6. Next, it will be needed enter the password to confirm the process. Once done, you must take into account that the request for deletion can be cancelled if you log in again to your account during the duration of this process.

Note: to make this process simpler and more direct, you can access the following link: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account


You must be completely sure to delete your Facebook account permanently, even if you have 90 days to think about it. Regardless of your choice, with this article you will find methods to delete, deactivate and recover your profile.


add a comment of How to permanently delete your Facebook account
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.