How to immediately disable Facebook settings and notifications

Who I am
Pavel Yosifovich
@pavelyosifovich
Author and references

Facebook offers us many ways to log in contact with old friends, see what former colleagues and colleagues are up to, and keep in touch with distant family members. You can find endless recipe videos to watch, many of them not made by you, and even find a used moped in great condition.

But with every new feature release comes another one notifies, a privacy issue or a downright inconvenience and you don't have to smile and bear it. From annoying ad notifications to creepy reminders you'd rather keep in the past, here's how to turn them off instantly Facebook settings and notifications.



How to immediately disable Facebook settings and notifications

Some memories belong to the past. You can control whether you see posts from On This Day or other posts from Memories, and you can even go as far as listing a specific person and date that you don't want to be reminded of.

In the left sidebar of your profile page, in the same column where you list Friends, Groups, Messengers, and Marketplaces, click Remember (you can also go directly to facebook.com/memories). Choose Notifications from the left menu and select "None" to turn off all notifications or "Featured" to only receive notifications about certain reminders, such as celebration videos.

You can also cut to the chase and decide if there are certain people or certain days you'd rather not remember via Facebook notification. For block Memories relating to certain people or dates, in the left bar under Notifications, select Hide people (and then select people via the search option and drop-down menu) or Hide dates (and then set your date settings). favorite).



Turn off Facebook live notifications

With Facebook Live more notifications arrived. Whether or not you've been tagged in a video and plan to tune in or not, Facebook notifies you when your friends go live. Good news: You can turn off Facebook live notifications with just a few clicks.

In Settings, go to Notifications, scroll down to Video and click to expand the drop-down menu and choose «Off». You can also check notifications about tags, birthdays, people you may know, the market, and more here.

Stop playing the video automatically

As you scroll through the news feed, there are some videos that you just don't want to see, but they still play without warning. To stop random videos from autoplaying in your Facebook News Feed, click the drop-down arrow button in the upper-right corner, choose Settings and Privacy, then Settings again.

Select the videos in the left sidebar (you may need to scroll down a bit), then click on the drop-down menu to the right of «Autoplay videos» and select «Disable».

Log out of activity outside of Facebook

Facebook recently launched a new feature, the Off-Facebook Activity tool, which lets you manage how the company sees and tracks your online activity. According to the Facebook Help Center: “Off-Facebook activity is a summary of the activity that companies and organizations share with us about your interactions, such as visiting their apps or websites.

They use our business tools, like the accesso to Facebook or the Facebook pixel, to share this information with us. The good news is that you can clear the history of the apps and websites you use that have shared your data, and you can turn off data tracking in the future.



Click the drop-down arrow button in the in corner top right, choose Settings and privacy, then Settings again. Click Your Facebook Information in the left column, then click Off-Facebook Activity.

To clear the history, choose Clear History. To turn off your future off-Facebook activity for all apps and websites, choose Future Off-Facebook Activity and click Turn Off.

Turn off location history

In the app Facebook, you have the option to turn on Location History to let Facebook know exactly where you are using location services on your device. But if you are not interested in Facebook that keeps tabs and logs of your various locations within the app, you can turn off Location History at any time.

In the Facebook app, tap the Menu icon (three horizontal lines) in the lower right corner; tap Settings, Privacy shortcuts and Manage your location settings, then turn off the toggle icon.

Turn off location sharing (close friends)

Nearby Friends is a feature that allows you and your friends to share your locations with each other, and turning on Nearby Friends in your app will automatically turn on Location History as well.

If you want that Facebook stop sharing your location with friends, go to the menu icon in the bottom right, then tap Friends Nearby (or maybe See More if it's not at the top). Tap your name, tap Settings, then set the toggle icon to "off." You always can change them again if you decide you want to start sharing your location again.


Hide ads you don't want to see

If you feel targeted by your Facebook ads or simply don't want to see content that doesn't interest you, you're not alone. The next time an ad that you would like not to see appears in your feed or on your webpage firewall, click the dots button to the right and select "Hide ad" to remove that ad or "Hide all ads". [Brand] ads» to completely free yourself (at least on Facebook).


Mark messages as unread

You want to be able to open a message before they're ready to reply, but not leave the person in "reading" mode. You can easily mark individual messages as 'unread', giving you a little more time to formulate the perfect reply. When you hover over each conversation on FB Messenger, you will see a circle with three dots on the right. Click on that and select Mark as unread.

order your news

It's not them, it's you, or, yes, maybe it really is them. Either way, you may have some extremely active Facebook friends whose post they're clogging up your timeline (and driving you crazy). Don't want to go so far as to stop being friends with them, but need to quiet the noise? we hear you. You have a few options.

You can unfollow them (instead of unfriending or blocking them); Basically, your posts and activity will no longer appear in your feed, but you'll still be able to view their profiles and send messages. To do this, click on the three dots in the upper right corner of a person's post or Page and select “Unfollow [person's name]”.

You can also go to the main drop down menu on the top right, select Privacy and Settings, News Feed Preferences, Unfollow, and Search for the person in question.

Disable facial recognition

The fact that Facebook can scan photos, identify faces, and suggest photo tags is objectively great. It was very helpful at first, then it got a little creepy. If you don't like the idea that Facebook knows exactly what you look like, and you don't need help recognizing your or your friends' faces in photos, you can quickly disable this questionable feature.

Go to Settings and privacy, Settings, then choose Facial recognition from the menu on the left. Where it asks «Do you want Facebook to be able to recognize you in photos and videos?» click edit and select "no" from the drop-down menu.

Block annoying apps and game invites

Do you have a Facebook friend from high school you haven't talked to in years who keeps inviting you to play Candy Crush on Facebook? Don't worry, you can stop this by blocking invites to their apps.

All you have to do is go to «Settings», select «Block» and enter the names of your friends from whom you don't want to receive invitations. It also works for events, apps in general, pages and posts.

Group activity notifications

Getting notifications from a Facebook group you joined years ago, but aren't quite ready to go? Turn those bad boys off. At the top right of the group page, next to the search icon, click the three dots icon, tap Manage notifications and choose your preferred settings: Receive alerts for «All posts», «Featured posts», «Featured posts». friends», «or» Off «.


add a comment of How to immediately disable Facebook settings and notifications
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.